Spain

Madrid y Asturias.

Wednesday I ventured out of our little barrio of Montecarmelo and headed for the big city. A short 10 minute walk from the house and I was at the metro station. I bought my ticket and looked for my train; it was arriving as soon as I got to the platform. Navigating the metro was very easy, which I was grateful for. I got to sit and relax and watch the people around me. At the second stop, two guys with guitars got in the train and began to sing and play. I wish I would have taken a picture, or a video…but I’m sure this won’t be the last time I experience something like that. When I got to my stop, Gran Vía, I was in awe as I walked up the stairs from the tube station. It reminded me of New York and walking out to Times Square. There were big, beautiful buildings and people and motos and I just stood there to take it all in. Walking throughout the city, seeing parks and museums and being apart of the city, it really hit me. I’m here. This city and country will be my home for the next year.

IMG_4581
Billete del metro
IMG_4582
Madrid–one of the white buildings 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I found myself in a small cafe off the main road and enjoying a sammy and coke. I’ve never been one to go out and do things completely by myself. It’s a daunting experience. But the other day I fully enjoyed it. Getting to explore the city and act like a local was a fun experience. It made me want to adventure out on my own more 🙂

IMG_4590

This weekend we went to Asturias to visit Mónica’s parents. About four hours north and we were in such a beautiful place. A city by the sea. It was so much cooler and so fresh and green compared to Madrid. The house in Asturias is on a hill and has quite the view. Mónica’s parents were so welcoming and even though they didn’t speak any English and my Spanish is seriously basic, we got along just fine. I can’t wait to spend 2 weeks there at the end of August 🙂

IMG_4594
Asturias

And the icing on the cake is the fact that my kiddos, Eugenia and Jaime, are pretty adorable and I think we’re gonna get along just fine. They both love Disney movies, so sing alongs are going to be a big thing in our house. As will be playing fútbol con Jaime. Looking forward to all of our adventures, but now vamos a la piscina!

IMG_4602
Los niños en un barco
IMG_4622
Eugenia y Jaime

 

2 thoughts on “Madrid y Asturias.

  1. Hello Danielle.
    It looks like your doing well! Thank you for sharing your adventures with us, wow Spain is absolutely beautiful! So you and your kiddos have met, and I know that you all will get along great. They are very cute…too!

    So have you tried any of the tradition food?
    Love your blog so keep going to new places so we can visit through your eyes!!

    Take care, MISS and LOVE you bunches ~ Nana & Aunt B xoxo

    Like

  2. Que maravilloso! Looks like a beautiful place. Cannot wait for to hear and see more of Spain through your eyes. Besos Mama

    Like

Leave a Reply

