Confessions · Spain

The honest truth.

I’ve been in Madrid a total of 11 days. And each one of those days has brought a new and different experience. All of which have been exciting and I’ve embraced it. As much as I’ve enjoyed my time thus far abroad, I’m missing the tangibility and accessibility of my peeps. Aka…I’m lonely. I want friends. I miss my friends.

The nannying part of being in Spain is a cake walk, in the sense that I’ve done it before and being with kiddos all day is a normal thing for me. The more challenging part is the fact that when my day is over I’m still here, and don’t leave to go home, see friends and unwind. It’s an interesting dynamic. I don’t feel like I’m working 24/7 which is really nice, but I’m constantly near the kiddos. It would be nice to have plans after the day is done and to meet up with friends, ya know? I realize it’s been a week and a half since moving here, I’m not gonna have insta-friends, but that doesn’t keep me from wanting it to be true 😁

The point of this post is to be honest and open about my time here. It’s not all going to be sunshine and rainbows, and I know that. And this is part of my journey, so I’m sharing it with you. Everyday I’ve prayed for patience, strength, and courage. Patience with my kiddos. Patience while improving my Spanish. Patience during the whole move and process of adjusting. Strength and courage to continue and embrace, and step outside of my comfort zone.

All your prayers and words of encouragement are a huge support to me. So thank you!
Lots of love, Danielle ❤️

2 thoughts on “The honest truth.

  1. Danielle thinking and praying for you. I can only imagine how you feel. Thank you for honesty. All I can say is friendship is coming. Now that you’re hanging with the kids you’ll start seeing other caregivers. Then you’ll start interacting with them. GRACE and peace. Love you my sweet. Mama

    Like

  2. Hi Danielle,

    Your in my thoughts and prayers always! Love your honesty and I know in due time you will be making new friends. You then will be speaking Spanish like a pro…. Keep trusting!

    Love you ~ B

    Like

Leave a Reply

