Blogging University

Who I am and why am I here?!

So I am starting this “Blogging 101” course today and our first assignment is to write a post about ourselves and our blog. I kind of already did this at the beginning, but now that I’ve been posting a bit more regularly, let’s revisit the introductions.

1408038156403A little bit about me…I’m a 23 year old California girl. I graduated from college in May 2014, and two months later in July I packed up and moved to Spain. I wanted to travel and see the world after graduation and that led me to being an au pair. Eventually I want to be a teacher, so this year will be great practice for teaching. So far I have enjoyed my time here; I have made some pretty cool friends and my Spanish family is awesome! I’m so excited for this next year and the journey ahead!

Q: Why are you blogging publicly, rather than keeping a personal journal? Funny story, I’ve always wanted a blog. I thought they were cool and I like reading others’ blogs. But up until now, I never thought I had anything interesting to write about. When my life “got interesting” I figured I would start a blog. In July I moved to Madrid, Spain to be an au pair for an entire year. The main reason I started blogging is to keep my family and friends updated on my life in Spain. Being on the other side of the world and 9 hours ahead of my friends and family makes it a tad challenging to keep in contact with everyone. My blog is so that I can share my adventures with those back home in the states, develop my writing skills, and hopefully meet some cool peeps on the interweb and connect over our mutual love for travel and adventure!

Q: What topics do you think you’ll write about? Judging by my posts thus far…I’ll write about anything and everything. I’ve written about my kiddos, the struggles, the triumphs, things I’ve done, things I want to do. Right now, I’m going to stick to that.

Q: Who would you love to connect with via your blog? I would love to connect with other au pairs or expats, especially those in my area. But really I’d like to meet others that share my love for travel and adventure. Maybe we can share stories, swap traveling secrets and hints. See the world together!

Q: If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished? I hope that I will blog successfully this coming year, otherwise no one will know whats going on in my life! Honestly, with my blog I hope that I can encourage others to explore and travel. I’m so blessed to have gotten to see multiple countries in Europe thus far and I hope to see more. I think it’s fun and challenging to put yourself out there and try something new. Just do it. Why not now? There is no time like the present. And even if it’s hard, I am willing to bet that the over all experience will be great and the memories and stories will well worth all the times of struggle. So let’s go exploring!

2 thoughts on “Who I am and why am I here?!

Leave a Reply

