NaBloPoMo · November 2014

Mi voz?

NaBloPoMo prompt for today…Do you feel you have found your voice on your blog? What techniques have you tried to develop your voice in your writing? What are some characteristics of your personality in your writing?

Initially I thought of Ariel in The Little Mermaid, and how she trades her voice for legs. She learns how important her voice is, but also learns to function without it. So what about my voice…?!

Have I found my voice on my blog? I’m not sure I am entirely certain of what this is asking. When I write, it is as if I am talking to a friend. Although sometimes I try to be a little bit more professional in my writing. Not everyone reading knows me personally and therefore cannot always catch the sarcasm or joking nature that comes through in my writing. So I feel like I can’t answer this question. I don’t know what finding your voice means. Maybe if I had started my blog with certain direction in mind, then I would have more of a “voice,” but I just started this blog so that friends and family back home would know what I am doing while I’m abroad. This is just my online “diary.” Perhaps in a few months or at the end of my year in Spain, I’ll have a “voice.” We shall see. Stayed tuned to see what unfolds.

What techniques have I tried to develop my voice in my writing? Participating in different blogging events has definitely challenged me and stretched me in my writing. Trying to write with a special reader in mind definitely shapes my writing. So I suppose that is one “technique” that I have used. Just participating in events like Blogging University or NaBloPoMo encourages me to write more often and to put more thought into what I am writing. Anything to get me writing more catches my attention and I want to give it a try. Practice makes perfect, right?

What are some characteristics of my personality in my writing? Hehe, I’d like to think that my wit comes through in my writing. But that’s just what I think. Since I usually write as if I am talking to a friend, I think that my personality definitely is portrayed. I want my writing to be familiar, like we are friends and just sitting back, talking in a coffee shop. So hopefully I am doing a good job conveying my voice and personality to my readers; especially my readers that don’t me personally 🙂

How do you add personality to your writing? What is your voice when you write?

Leave a Reply

