Confessions · NaBloPoMo · November 2014

Worry Wart.

Yesterday I blogged about music and missed the prompt for NaBloPoMo…and I really liked yesterday’s prompt; more so than today’s, so I’m writing on Tuesday’s prompt. Hey it’s my blog and I can go out of order and write about what I want when I want! 😀

Soooo, yesterday’s NaBloPoMo prompt was: If you could permanently get rid of one worry, what would it be?

Phew, what a heavy question. After some pondering, I came up with an answer. My worry that I would permanently want to get rid of is: the fear of the unknown. Specifically about my future. This is something that I am constantly thinking about and worrying about. I feel like I am constantly contemplating what my next step in life will be.

Even now, I am starting to think about what I will do after my year in Spain. I mean I still have 8 months here. I have time. Yet I’m thinking about my next move. Will I go to grad school? Will I travel again? What is best for me? What do I want in life? It would be nice to not worry about this stuff. Our society and culture is always focused on the next thing. We go to college, to get a degree, to get a god job. That good job is to set us up for our lives. When do we reach the “final step?” The end to what we are working for? Truthfully, I want to be able to enjoy the moments I am living right now and not have to constantly be concerned with my plans after this current chapter in life.

The saving grace for me is that I know that God’s got my back, and time and time again he has proved to me that his plans are far better than anything I could have ever imagined for my life. This fact helps keep me sane and I know that everything will work out in the end, but it doesn’t keep my mind from wandering. All I can do is to continue to trust in God and his plan for my life. I know that he will provide for me. Besides, worrying will get me nowhere. Enough, worrying. I’m going to enjoy every bit of time I have here in Spain and not worry about all the rest.

What worry would you permanently get rid of? How do you cope with your worries?

Leave a Reply

