NaBloPoMo · November 2014 · Spain

Packing for a whole year.

I honestly don’t know how I managed to pack everything I wanted for my move to Spain. Well, truthfully I didn’t pack everything I wanted. Everything I wanted would have been the majority of my wardrobe, which is not tiny. The weeks leading up to my departure I remember scouring the inter-web looking for helpful hints in packing for a whole year. I was constantly looking for info on the temperature in Madrid and what to expect during the seasons. I also know that I waited until the last few days to begin packing. Not the smartest move on my part. Traveling Troubles: 1. Danielle: 0.

I was just looking at some other blogs and thinking about my time here. The posts were mostly about fashion and clothes. Which lead me to thinking about my wardrobe and how it is seriously lacking. I did not do a very good job packing. There were no lists, no ideas, no direction. Just basics and the knowledge that I would be able to buy anything I did not bring with me. BAD IDEA DANIELLE. Why would you think buying it would be okay when you have it and can bring it?! Seriously…WHAT was I thinking? Traveling Troubles: 2. Danielle: 0.

The fact is that I didn’t bring enough clothes period. I should have paid the extra money and had an over weight bag. Or even checked both of my bags. But nope…the cheap, broke college student won that battle and I checked one bag, 50lbs, and carried on my other suitcase. AKA not enough clothes for a whole year. If I could go bad and do it all over again, I would have paid the extra fee and checked both bags, and maybe even had one or both be overweight. Traveling Troubles: 3. Danielle: 0.

IMG_4529
My suitcase 2 days before I left. Good one Danielle.

Everyday, I am constantly reminded of my lack of clothes and what a stinky job I did packing. Man, as I am writing this, I can’t help but think how shallow this makes me sound, and I’m so sorry! ๐Ÿ™ˆ Ugh… #firstworldproblems

My advice for packing if you are planning on going anywhere longer than a few weeks: think, plan, write out what you want to take. Make sure you’ve got an idea so that you just aren’t walking in blind. Don’t be like me. Don’t let the traveling troubles beat you.

How have you prepared packing for a trip? What are essentials that you pack?

3 thoughts on “Packing for a whole year.

  1. I usually prepare a list of all the things I’m taken and few days before the trip I start packing. Definitely, comfy clothes, shoes and makeup. But non of my trips exceeded 2 weeks so far. So I can’t imagine packing for a year it will be a challenge for me. Enjoy Spain ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Don’t beat yourself up D-girl….those are lesson we all learn from. If and when you take another 1 year trip you will be better prepared! Thanks for sharing as your tips will help on my upcoming trip to Spain in March ’15. Love & miss you ~Aunt B

    Like

Leave a Reply

