NaBloPoMo · November 2014 · Spain

Older and Wiser.

Do you enjoy growing old or do you fight against it?

This was the NaBloPoMo prompt for Friday, Nov 14. Again I am going out of order. Whoops, sorry I’m not sorry! 😀

This is such an interesting question…and I’m not exactly sure how to answer it. I don’t have just a straight answer. There is some explaining that I have to do 😉

When I was in high school as a freshman, I could not WAIT to be a senior and be at the top of the “food chain.” Then the years flew by and graduation was a few months away. At that point, being out of high school and preparing to go to college could not come soon enough. I remember not being able to wait for graduation and my summer before heading off to college! Being in college was going to be soo awesome! Now don’t get me wrong, college was fan-freaking-tastic. There were moments that were challenging, but there were times that were so much fun. I made some great friends and those ladies have stuck around. While in college, I was excited for graduation and being done with school, for the time being, but the urge to get out wasn’t necessarily as strong as it was back in high school. Life after college is the “real world.” That is when you are supposed to know what you are doing with your life. My plans immediately after college were, and still are, clear. Going to Spain and getting to travel was exactly what I wanted for my postgrad life.

4 months into my postgrad plan and I’m thinking about the future. Ew. Haha. Growing older is something that is inevitable. I know that whether I like it or not, it’s going to happen.When I think about getting older, I think about the unfortunate parts…graying hair, frail body, memory loss. Although growing older will include these things, it does not have to be a bad thing. It’s happening right now. My grandma turned 85 last week. Family sent me pictures and the woman looks wonderful. Her life has been full and extremely rich with family and friends. Realizing that she has hit this point in her life got me thinking about my life and what mine will look like when I reach her age.

As much as I don’t want to grow old, I am excited and interested to see that is going to happen in my life. Getting older does not mean that life stops. I’m all for life getting better and learning to enjoy it all.

Leave a Reply

