December 2014 · NaBloPoMo

My pick me up.

Well December is here. Where is the time going? Let’s kick off this month with NaBloPoMo’s prompt: What do you do when you’re down to bring yourself a little joy?

There are a whole bunch of different things I do when I’m feeling down. My pick-me up is dependent on my mood. Sometimes it’s country music, Maroon 5, chocolate, talking with a loved one, or reading my bible. I’ve noticed that in the past three years, I’ve gone to my bible for a pick-me up more than I had done in the past. I believe that it’s because my relationship with Jesus has really grown a lot stronger in the recent few years. Big life changes happened and I had to fully rely on God because I couldn’t even begin to try and rely on myself or others. Despite the struggles I faced, I’m thankful that I went through them. And I am thankful for the growth in my relationship with Jesus.

Now that December is here, the advent season has officially begun. Yesterday at church we talked about thankfulness, and this doesn’t necessarily mean that you are 100% on top of writing your “thank you”cards in a timely manner. Yes that is part of thankfulness, but it’s more than that. It is having a heart that is thankful. Our pastor gave us a small checklist of things to reflect upon that might help us to better gauge where we are on the “Thankful Scale.”

~Would you say that you are a thankful person?~

  1. Is it easier to complain or to give thanks?
  2. Are you easily irritated?
  3. What is your reaction to small inconveniences?
  4. What would the people around you say about you?
  5. Do you look at your world and complain?
  6. Do you look at your world and give thanks?
  7. Do you feel like you are ignored and things rarely ever go your way?
  8. Do you feel like you have lots of blessings?
  9. How often do you think about “if only”?
  10. How well do you communicate, complaints or thanks?

~Would you say that you are a thankful person?~

This little list of questions really got to me. I want to have a thankful heart. So this advent season I am going to make the conscience effort to be more full of thanks and cut the complaining. A good reminder for me will be this sentence: What if you woke up tomorrow with only the things you thanked God for today? If this were to be true, what would I have? So here’s to being more thankful and seeing things through that lens, I want to say good-bye to complaining.

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” 1 Thessalonians 5:18

What do you do when you need a pick-me up? What are you thankful for?

 

Leave a Reply

