Confessions · December 2014 · NaBloPoMo · Spain

Dreamland.

The other night I had such a weird dream. And honestly, it completely freaked me out.

I don’t remember all of it, but I remember this:

In my dream I was asleep and my alarm for work went off and I needed to get the kids ready for school. But when I woke up, I was in my bed. At home. In California. Instant panic set in. Why was I not in Spain? Was it summer already? Was my time really up? I didn’t pack everything. I don’t have anyone’s info, how will we keep in touch? Does my Spanish family miss me? Do they know I love them? Did they already find my replacement? When I actually woke up I was so disoriented and couldn’t figure it out if I was actually back in the states, or if I was still in Spain. After a minute or so I figured out it was just a dream and I was still in Spain.

After almost 5 months here, that was the first dream I’ve had that I had a tough time figuring it out if it was real or not. And After thinking about it, I remember the panic that I felt thinking I was back home in California. Don’t get me wrong, I miss home and am looking forward to returning to all the people and places I love, but my time here in Spain has been great. I’d be lying if I said that I won’t be sad when I have to go home. As much as I miss home, I’m not quite ready to leave yet. Clearly that was evident in my panic in my dream and after I woke up. Spain hasn’t been all that bad. Glad for the experiences that I’ve had here thus far and I’m looking forward to the adventures ahead!

Do you remember your last dream? What was your reaction after you woke up?

Leave a Reply

