Au Pair Life · December 2014 · NaBloPoMo · Spain

Mis Niños.

I have been living in Spain for almost 5 months! First of all, where has the time gone!? I have no idea. I know that these past 5 months have taught me so much, and I have grown so much.

I think the biggest thing I’ve learned about myself is that I can do it. Those four words mean a lot. This whole experience has shown me that I am a capable person. I can function in a different place. I can make it and survive. Before I moved I never considered this. Never thought that there could be a possibility that I wouldn’t be able to do it. Pero yo puedo!

5 months being around a 4 and 5 year old constantly, has taught me the great art of patience. I should rephrase that…it is constantly teaching me patience. It’s a never ending lesson; when they cry over dumb things, or when they hit each other, or when they just can’t. I’ve learned that I can’t get too mad at them, nor can I expect too much from them. Along with patience, I’ve been learning grace. Eugenia y Jaime are only kiddos. While I expect them to behave and be “grown-up”I know that isn’t possible. At least not all the time. After all they are only 4 and 5.

My favorite moments are when they are together and being sweet little angels, when they bust out their English, and when they show maturity beyond their years. My experience with them has truly been eye-opening. Living and working with my “employers” is definitely an adjustment, but I feel more like a family member than an employee (thank goodness!). And while that means when the kids are home and awake I feel like I’m responsible for them, those little munchkins have become my pseudo siblings/children. Trying to manage two different personalities and function is quite a task. Let’s hope my time with them makes me more prepared for when I have my own kiddos!

Moral of the blog post, I’m happy where I am. Eugenia and Jaime are teaching me and I’m teaching them. Glad those two are in my life.

Leave a Reply

