Au Pair Life · Spain

Feliz Año Nuevo.

6 days into the New Year and so far 2015 has been good to me.

December 31 started with family and it was a fun day. I had the kiddos in the morning until lunchtime and then at 6pm Monica and I were prepped and ready to run San Silvestre. This is a 10k run that takes place in cities all over the country. I wish we had something like this back home. It was so much fun! There were so many people (over 40 thousand!) and so many costumes! I can honestly say that December 31, during the run, I fell in love with Madrid. It was so stinking beautiful. Madrid and other cities throughout the country are decorated in lights for Christmas. Getting to run through the city and see all the lights was magical. The atmosphere was fun and I was amazed at how many people were out running on NYE and how many people were on the sidelines cheering us on. Just a good time had by all.

After the run, we had dinner as a family at Grandma’s house. It was nice being surrounded by family. Talked, laughed, wined and dined. Once we finished with dinner, Michelle and I headed out for Sol. We were meeting up with some friends and were going to ring in 2015 together, then head out to a bar afterwards. The last hour of 2014 passed by quickly, and soon we were yelling “feliz año!” and eating grapes and popping champagne. A tradition unique to Spain is eating 12 grapes at each chime of midnight. Let me tell you, this was no easy feat. These grapes were not tiny little things and they had seeds. I only got through about 6 in time with the bells. 50% ain’t bad, right? Later I talked to one of my Spanish friends and she said when you pick your grapes, you get the smallest ones you can find and just end up swallowing them…umm, no thanks haha.

And this year I have been running almost everyday. I found this challenge on Pinterest, 2015mi in 2015. Sounds pretty awesome no? I mean it’s definitely a challenge. When I found it I was committed to running it by myself. That quickly changed when I realized how hard it is to run that much on a consistent, daily basis. Granted I could wake up early and knock it out before I get the kiddos ready for school, but let’s be honest here…that was never gonna happen. So, my friend and I are going to split it between us. Or maybe we can make it 2015km instead of miles. Heh heh, we shall see. Either way, I think this is pretty cool. Quite a feat regardless. I’m making a super conscious effort to be active and take care of myself. Guess that’s my resolution for 2015.

Any resolutions for 2015? What did you do for NYE? Whatever you did, I hope it was fun!!! Let’s go 2015!

One thought on “Feliz Año Nuevo.

  1. Seems like Christmas and New Year’s in Spain was a spectacular time and will add to great memories! I am so glad that your having an amazing time and being able to experience different traditions….Kudos to you for your 2015 resolution, that’s a lot of running, but you can do it!! Nana said to say Thank you for sharing your journey….

    Sending you tons of LOVE ~ Nana & B

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

