Au Pair Life · Spain

ONE YEAR!!!

Apparently today is my blog-iversary. One year ago, I posted my first blog post. Check it here!

Wow, I cannot believe that it has been a year on this little old blog of mine. I’m pretty proud of myself. This blog has not died like all the others previously. Hip hip hooray!

This blog-iversary also means that my time in España is quickly coming to an end. It is the end of April…it’s time to start looking at buying my ticket back to the US of A. Yikes! I cannot believe that time has flown this fast. Right now I am thinking about when I will return stateside. Originally my plan was to return at the end of June, but I’m toying with the idea of staying until August. Really it is just a difference of a month and a half, so it’s nothing big, but the end of June or mid August. Hmmm…decisions decisions. Hopefully plane tickets aren’t an arm and a leg!

Now I would like to take some time to reflect on this past year. I graduated college! Something that seemed to take forever (5 years) finally happened. May 17, 2014 was a whirlwind, but I was surrounded by friends and family and it was such a great day. Two months later I packed up and moved to the other side of the world. I mean really?! That is crazy. Sometimes I still cannot believe it. Even as I am sitting here in Spain typing this out. I moved in with strangers and agreed to work and live with them for a year. Honestly, it has been one of the best decisions of my life. I wouldn’t change it for the world. Those strangers have become family and I am so grateful to have them in my life. In addition to moving and living in a different country, I’ve gotten pretty good at Spanish…heyooo! Still not fluent, but I can hold my own, for the most part 🙂

As a person I have grown and changed and learned so much about myself. I’m not sure if I have written about this before, but this experience of moving to Spain has reminded me of just how capable I am. College was my first experience with this. I was living away from Mom and Dad for the first time but I functioned, survived and passed classes; all while having a social life, clean clothes and a semi-healthy diet. Then moving into apartments and paying bills and being responsible for things like that. Moving to a different country, with a different language has reminded me that I can take care of myself and as much as I don’t like to admit it…I am an adult! #nevergrowingup

All and all, I’m thankful for this past year and everything I have learned and experienced. I cannot wait to see that awaits me in the coming year! Thank you, readers who have been with me this past year 🙂 Adventure is out there and I’m going to find it!

IMG_3206 

IMG_4430    IMG_0025  IMG_4862

IMG_2978    IMG_5033 IMG_5042    IMG_5081 IMG_0173

2 thoughts on “ONE YEAR!!!

Leave a Reply

