Spain · Writing 101

The Key.

Day One: Unlock the Mind

To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

Keep typing (or scribbling, if you prefer to hand write for this exercise) until your twenty minutes are up. It doesn’t matter if what you write is incomplete, or nonsense, or not worthy of the “Publish” button.

And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.

Right now, it’s the weekend. Sunday to be exact. I’m sitting in my room, writing this post/doing this exercise. My munchkins are running around the flat and my Spanish parents are trying to rangle in the crazies.

Music playing and it’s raining outside. I wish it wasn’t. When the weather is gloomy and gray, I NEVER want to do anything. I’d prefer to stay under the covers and read or watch movies. Right now I’m reading two books. One in English and the other in is Spanish. Not That Kind of Girl by Leena Dunham and Mujeres Que Corren by Cristina Mitre. Reading multiple books at one time is not a big deal to me. It’s the language part of it; I have to switch completely, obviously. I know that is the reason I am not very far in my Spanish book. I really have to focus on my Spanish and I have to pay attention to every word. Where as in English I can read pretty fast and have been able to finish books within a day or so. But I’m pretty impressed with myself, reading and understanding in Spanish. Maybe I’ll try to read Los Juegos Del Hambre again. I started that when I first got here to Spain, and I figured it would be easier since I’ve already read the story in English. Wrong. It was sooo difficult. But maybe now, my brain will be able to handle it.

Last night my sister texted and told me that she’s got her ticket to see me! Yeah! Excited that she is going to come out and visit! She left on a mission trip a little bit before I left for Spain so our time was cut shorter than my parents. So when we see each other it will be a lot closer to an entire year. What a sweet reunion it will be. We are trying to plan our trip to visit other countries while we are here, Italy is at the top of our list. Maybe France and Switzerland as well. Honestly I am just excited that she’s coming. It’s always fun to have visitors. Yeee!

Sheesh, I kind of forgot who challenging this timed writing prompts are. I think that the last time I did one of these I was in high school…maybe my freshman year of college. But needless to say, it has been a long time. At least this prompt is simple and just a free write. Although sometimes the structured ones are slightly easier. At least there is a topic for you to follow and a sort of direction for your writing to take. I like the free write because i like seeing where my mind goes. How different thoughts are strung together. Getting a peek into my mind.

Currently I am hungry. Thankfully I can smell lunch being made. Yum. After lunch we will relax and hang out, then I’ve got the munchkins tonight. Wooo! We will see how that goes. Sundays are sort of a struggle, in my opinion, because we have to get ready for school and the munchkins are never super excited for that, even though we do this every week. I’m always slightly annoyed and amazed at their tantrums over the routines we go through. Like really? Come on you crazies. We do this all the time. This is nothing new. Oh well. Children. Even though they drive me nuts, still love them.

Man, this rain. I hope it doesn’t stay. We had some nice weather back in March and it was hot. Then was chilly again. But a few weeks ago it was warm again. And now it is raining. Spain is teasing me. Stop it. I just want warm weather. I want to not worry about being cold. Although it does get unbearably hot here in the summer, I still want it to stop raining and for the sun and warm weather to get here and stay here. I want to wear shorts and dresses and live in my swim suits. Ahhhh, how I love the summertime!


Well I made it to the 20 minutes. And I’m going to post it!

I challenge you to free write for 20 minutes!

Leave a Reply

