Confessions · Things I Wish I Knew

Dear Me.

You know those questions, “if you could go back and tell yourself at age (insert younger age), what would you tell yourself?” For some odd reason this notion has been floating around in my noggin. But it’s not going back to when I was super young or anything like that, it’s more like going back to the start of college, almost 6 years ago or even 3 years ago when I switched universities. I had SO many expectations and plans for my life at the ripe old age of 18 when I was starting college. I laugh about it now because just about everything I had mapped out for my life at that point has completely changed and I definitely did not stick to that path in any shape or form. Back then I was pretty sure I was going to marry (after graduation, of course) my boyfriend at the time. I was going to graduate in four years (like a “normal” person) with my Psychology degree in tow. I had these great plans of traveling after graduating with my new hubby, because we obvi made it through college and got hitched.

Welp, like I said before, basically none of that ending up being the case. That boyfriend and I broke up about a year later. After my second year of college I decided that I wanted to transfer to a different school. Unfortunately that added another year (oh the horror!) until graduation. And I also changed my major, to Liberal Studies in hopes of becoming a teacher. When all these changes happened, all within 6-9months I freaked out. My life was falling apart. All my plans were being thrown out the window. What was I going to do!? Now I have NO plan…does that mean I’ve failed? No joke, I legitimately had these thoughts. Here I am, at 23 functioning just fine. I graduated college. Got a killer opportunity to go travel and live abroad. Granted I don’t have a boyfriend and the marriage thing is quite far off at this point, I’m okay with that. I get to do all of the things that I want to do, and I get to experience life. Sure things didn’t go the way I had planned 6 years ago, but I am SO GLAD that it didn’t work our that way. If things would have gone according to “the plan” I would not be the woman I am today and I would not have experienced all of the things I have thus far.

So, if I could tell my young 18 year old self something it would be…don’t worry. Honestly. It’s not worth it. Everything will work out for the best. You might be going crazy right now because things “are falling apart,” but God’s got something way better planned out for you. Have faith and give yourself grace. Things will be bumpy at times but it will get better. Trust me. You meet some awesome friends once you transfer schools. Graduation happens, you make it! And right after graduation, you get to live in Spain for a year, travel, and have one of the coolest experiences of your life thus far. So live it up and don’t worry. Now, I just have to remember this advice as I’m freaking out about my life once I move back to the states! Easier said than done 😉

If you could go back and tell your younger self something, what age and what would you tell yourself?

One thought on “Dear Me.

  1. By the time you read this Danielle it will be “Happy Wednesday”!! Can I just say this has to be one of my favorite readings from your blog….I am so proud of the young woman you have turned into!! Your passion for children and what you strive to show them is who you are! I know that you’re going to be an amazing teacher…you have such a compassionate heart and have so much to share and give!! Your right about the path we have planned out for ourselves and of course there is that darn detour, but in the end GOD has a great path already laid out for all of us and he just wants us to trust and be faithful to him as he guides us!!!!

    We should all live each day of our lives to the fullest!! Go confidently in the direction of your dreams! Live the life you’ve imagined. I can’t wait to see you again soon….love you to the moon and back Danielle. ~ Aunt B ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

