Writing 101

Serially Lost.

Today’s Prompt: Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more. This doesn’t need to be a depressing exercise; you can write about that time you lost the three-legged race at a picnic. What’s important is reflecting on this experience and what it meant for you — how it felt, why it happened, and what changed because of it.

Today’s twist: Make today’s post the first in a three-post series.

Writing 101 was over at the beginning of the month, but I’m still going to write on some of the prompts. Enjoy!

You know when you lose something and you are pretty much 100% sure you know where that something is, like you can almost picture it in its spot in your mind? I’ve experienced this and I like to think of it as sort of, an organized chaos within my brain. It makes sense right? You’ve lost something, yet you can picture exactly where it is. So obviously it’s not lost, because you know exactly where it is. WRONG. You go to look for it…and it’s not there. Perfect. Now what to do. Naturally you tear apart your room, your apartment, your car, really any place that has a collection of your belongings, just to find the one thing you were looking for. Then, once the frenzy is over and the dust has settled, you remember exactly where you put that something; in a place so obvious, that you knew you wouldn’t forget where it was; even though you ending up forgetting.

This exact scenario happened to me last summer as I was getting ready to leave for Spain. I was constantly checking and double checking to make sure I had all my documents for my Visa and my passport and ticket info. Well at the end of June, I was going over everything and suddenly realized that I didn’t have my passport! Seriously Danielle?! The ONE thing you absolutely NEED to leave the country! How do you not have it? WHERE IS IT?! Panic followed and I tore apart my room and went slightly crazy looking for it. I found the copies I had made of my passport, but the actual document was no where to be found. I was absolutely certain that it was safe in its spot with my other important personal documents, nope…it wasn’t. Despite tearing apart my room I attempted to reorganize the mess I had just created. It was then when I realized I knew exactly where my little blue travel buddy was…with my Visa application, at the Spanish Consulate. Good one Danielle, good one.

Isn’t funny how our minds work? And please tell me I’m not alone in this! 🙂

What do you do when you lose something?

Leave a Reply

