Post Spain

What’s happening?!

Welp, Whole30 is almost at an end. Just a week left in this “challenge.” I can’t believe it. Surprisingly but at the same time not surprisingly, I’ve noticed a change in my overall well being. I don’t feel as bloated and I haven’t had an upset stomach, which I’m sure is a result from cutting things from my diet, i.e. dairy products. Wahhh, I love ice cream! Cutting out the processed carbs and sugar was definitely difficult at first. Like the first week my mom and I complained about it and we just wanted something that would satisfy the craving. But as we got farther into the month, we started enjoying and actually liking the cooking process, instead of sort of resenting it haha. Cutting out the processed carbs and sugars was sad. I wanted to have chocolate. And bread. Plus it didn’t help that both of those things were still in the house, since Papa Wong wasn’t participating in the Whole30, what a stinker!!!

Some of our favorites from the past 30 days have been oven roasted brussel sprouts, kale chips, and spaghetti squash. All of these foods haven’t been in our dinner rotation before, but they are now and I’m sure they will be here to stay! Yeah, it’s slightly time consuming, but I think it’s worth it and because the results are soo yummy.


My Dubai trip is just a little over a month away! I cannot believe it! It is really starting to feel real. Fundraising is going well. Thank you all so much that have been praying and have contributed to this wonderful mission. I figured I’d share my letter that I sent out detailing our trip and just letting know where my heart’s at. Enjoy!!

Hola mis queridos familia y amigos!
I’ve returned to the motherland and I’m so pleased to say that my time in Spain was fantastic and a life-changing experience; one that I will soon not forget! Thank you all so much for your support and love as I was preparing for the move and while I was away. I would so love to catch up with each and every one of you and retell my stories and adventures, so please do not hesitate to reach out for a coffee date!
I’m writing to you all to ask for your support once again. Since being back in California I’ve found a church family at Garden City Church. March 9-19 they are going on a mission trip to Dubai and I have been selected as one of 12 for the team! Garden City has a sister church, Redeemer Dubai, to which the team and I will be visiting and building relationships with the congregation there. We want to come alongside our sister church and support them as much as possible during our stay. Being able to plant and foster relationships with those at Redeemer is something I am personally looking forward to during our visit.
In addition to visiting Redeemer Dubai our team, along with a team from Redeemer will be traveling to Beirut, Lebanon to serve at Home of Hope; a non-profit organization that serves abandoned, abused, and orphaned children, many who are victims of violence and neglect. Their mission, and ours while partnering with them, is to create a nurturing, encouraging, and safe environment to help the children recover from their traumas, and to educate and raise them to be intellectually, emotionally, and spiritually prepared to face their futures, which is something that is near and dear to my heart.
First and foremost I ask that you pray with me. Pray for my team and I, that God would ready our hearts and minds for our time in Dubai and Beirut. Pray that God would grow me spiritually and prep me to build his Kingdom. Pray for safe travels and stay while we are overseas. Next I ask that if you feel lead, to please contribute financially. I need to raise $3,000 by February 15. If you would like to be a part of this mission through financial support, please send me a check made payable to “Garden City Church” and write “Dubai 2016-Danielle Wong” on the memo line. All contributions are tax deductible. While money is important, it’s a far second to my need for prayer support. Above all else please prayerfully join in supporting me in this trip!
Muchas gracias por su apoyo 🙂
Leave a Reply

